心导管检查及或冠状动脉介入治疗术

心导管检查能提供各类心脏病深入及精要的资料,而冠状动脉造影检查能清楚提供冠状动脉的收窄程度。当有需要时,在心导管检查或冠状动脉造影检查完成后,医生会即时进行冠状动脉介入治疗。冠状动脉介入治疗术(俗称“通波仔手术”)用于为冠心病病人扩张已收窄的冠状动脉,使血液再流通的手术。

一般而言,这类介入性检查比较优胜,亦能帮助医生对症下药。在急性冠心病发作时,它可发挥准确诊断的功效,也可作为冠心病介入治疗的踏脚石。这是高危的处理方法,却可救急,若有延误,后果可以非常严重。

过程:
  • 是项手术会在心导管检查及介入治疗室内进行,通常只需局部麻醉。过程中你是清醒的,但为舒缓紧张情绪,医生可能处方少量镇静剂。
  • 护士会在你的胸口贴上电极以便监察心率及心跳,并为你戴上血氧量监察器。血压量度器亦会
    不时从你的手臂量度血压。
  • 医生会穿刺手部或大腿内侧(腹股沟),以便进入动脉,然后在X光引导下将不同导管送入心脏。
  • 心脏内不同部位的压力会被量度。
  • 医生会注射显影剂,并拍摄X光影片,以确定血管收窄的程度。
  • 一般情况,我们会将一条特别的导管送到有收窄的血管,再将一条幼微钢丝通过收窄之位置;以该钢丝作引导,把球囊放到收窄点,然后打开球囊,使血管扩张;再放入合适的支架(永久留在体内),以确保血管持久扩阔。
  • 治疗期间医生会要求你咳嗽或忍住呼吸;当注射显影剂时,你会感觉浑身发热。球囊扩张会带来短暂胸口痛。假若你感觉痛楚持续、头昏或任何不适,请通知医生处理。
  • 医生亦会采用其他技术以达致成功及有效的手术。由于科技日新月异,详情不能在此尽录,有需要请与医生研讨。
术后跟进

  • 一般情况,病人可在手术翌日出院。
  • 出院前,医护人员会检查伤口,并盖上消毒纱布。请保持伤口清洁,如消毒纱布被弄湿,请立即更换。一般情况下手术后第2天可淋浴。
  • 为防止伤口流血,在最初7天内应避免进行剧烈运动。伤口附近的瘀伤大多是轻微的,通常会在手术后2至3星期消失。如发现胸口痛、伤口渗血/液、肿胀或发炎等问题,请立即返回医院求医,或到附近急症室就诊。

Cardiac Catheterization and Percutaneous Coronary Intervention

Cardiac catheterization is used to investigate the structure and function of the heart. Coronary Angiogram is used to investigate for any narrowing of the coronary arteries (arteries that supply blood to heart muscle). When indicated, percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) can be performed at the same setting of cardiac catheterization and coronary angiogram.

Cardiac catheterization can provide in-depth and specific information of various cardiac diseases. Coronary angiogram can provide a clear picture of the severity of narrowing of coronary arteries. In general, both are superior to non-invasive procedures and can help doctor make a definite plan of management. In emergency situation caused by acute coronary syndrome (heart attack), the procedure is essential in diagnosis. It is also a stepping stone to coronary intervention, which serves to open up the artery and improve the heart function. This approach, despite its high risk, can be life saving and the consequence can be detrimental if it is delayed.

The Procedure:
  • This is an invasive procedure that is generally performed under local anesthesia in the Cardiac Catheterization & Intervention Laboratory (CCIL).
  • Electrodes are adhered to the chest to monitor the heart rate and rhythm. Blood oxygen monitor through your fingertip will be set up. Measurement of blood pressure from your arm will be taken during the examination.
  • A small wound is made either from the wrist or the groin for access to arteries or veins. Catheters are advanced to the heart under X-ray guidance.
  • Pressures within the heart are measured.
  • Contrast is injected and films are taken. Narrowing of the coronary arteries is identified.
  • In general, a special catheter is placed in a coronary artery with narrowing. A guide wire is passed through the narrowing. The guide wire is used as a track to allow a balloon to go to the narrowing. The balloon is inflated to open up the artery. A stent is then deployed permanently inside the artery to keep it patent.
  • During the procedure, you will be asked to hold your breath or cough. Transient chest pain may be experienced during balloon dilatation. If you experience severe or persistent chest pain, dizzy spell or any discomfort, you are required to inform the staff.
  • Other techniques may be adopted to improve the success and outcome of the procedures. Please discuss with your doctor the procedure involved as new advance in PCI cannot be fully discussed in this information sheet.
Post-Procedure Follow-up

  • Usually you can be discharged 1 day after the procedure.
  • The wound will be inspected and covered with light dressing. Please keep the wound site clean and change dressing if wet. In general, showers are allowed after 2 days.
  • Please avoid vigorous activities (household or exercise) in the first 7 days after the procedure. Bruising around the wound site is common and usually subsides 2-3 weeks later. If you notice any signs of infection, increase in swelling or pain over the wound, please come back to the hospital or visit a nearby Accident and Emergency Department immediately.